Literary routes

Discover the world that inspired the trilogy by Eva García Sáenz de Urturi

The Silence of the White City, the trilogy by Eva García Sáenz de Urturi which was made into a film by Daniel Calparsolo, is set in Vitoria-Gasteiz and the province of Álava. You can now follow in the footsteps of Chief Investigator Ayala as he attempts to solve a case that attracted the attention of the international media and turned life upside down in this peaceful city.

Stage 1
Set in an easy-going city of deep-rooted customs and traditions, The Silence of the White City starts on Blusa and Neska Day, a precursor to Vitoria’s annual Virgen Blanca Festival. The novel is full of references to everyday life and customs in the city, with characters engaging in daily rituals such as meeting up for pintxos or going for walks along the city’s Green Belt.

Stage 2

Vitoria-Gasteiz – Lagrán

Stage two leaves Vitoria-Gasteiz for the Cantabrian and Toloño mountains and Villaverde, the mountainside town where the main character spent his childhood “staring at the wall of beech, oak and hazel trees”. Villaverde is one of three towns in the municipality of Lagrán. Stop off en route and visit the “famous derelict tower” in Treviño and the fascinating Church of San Vicentejo, “a gem of Romanesque architecture”.


Stage 3

Laguardia – Laguardia

The heritage town of Laguardia gets its lifeblood from the vast expanse of vineyards surrounding it. In fact, the whole town rests on a network of underground cellars where visitors can enjoy guided visits and wine tastings. An ideal wine and food tourism destination, Laguardia is also a wonderful example of the medieval walled towns, elegant architecture and seas of vineyards and olive groves characteristic of the Rioja Alavesa region.

Stage 4

San Adrían’s tunnel – Sandaili Cave

The Aizkorri-Aratz massif was formerly known as ‘marauders’ crossing’ due to the fighting and pillaging that was endemic among the inhabitants of the neighbouring provinces of Alava and Gipuzkoa. The picturesque landscape of limestone peaks and vast beech forests can be accessed through Alava, from the town of Araia, or through Gipuzkoa from Oñati and Zegama. Nature lovers will not be disappointed.


Stage 5

Deba – San Juan de Gaztelugatxe

As Eva García Sáenz de Urturi’s novels reveal, the Basque coast is full of magic spots. Two such places are the seaside town of Deba, in western Gipuzkoa, and the promontory church of San Juan de Gaztelugatxe, a breathtakingly beautiful site long associated with pirates, witches and ancient lore. You are sure to fall in love.


Stage 6

Monte Gorbea – Valdegovía

Located between the provinces of Alava and Bizkaia, Gorbeia Natural Park is the largest natural park in the Basque Country. The stunning, dizzyingly-high waterfalls, massifs of karstic rock, lush beech forests and open meadows of grazing cattle make it a cherished symbol of Basque culture and folklore. Afterwards, head south to Valdegovía, located at the entrance to Valderejo Natural Park, another must-see highlight along the way.


Related Posts

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para que usted tenga la mejor experiencia de usuario. Si continúa navegando está dando su consentimiento para la aceptación de las mencionadas cookies y la aceptación de nuestra política de cookies, pinche el enlace para mayor información. ACEPTAR

Aviso de cookies